Faculty of Sharia

The Faculty of Sharia (formerly the Department of Sharia) is one of the oldest faculties at the Surakarta State Islamic Institute (IAIN). Initially, the Department of Sharia and the Department of Ushuluddin were branches of IAIN Walisongo Semarang. Both were relocated from Pekalongan and Kudus to Surakarta based on the Decree of the Minister of Religion No. 86/1992, April 20, 1992.

On September 12, 1992, IAIN Walisongo in Surakarta was founded. It was projected by the then Minister of Religion, the late Prof. Dr. H. Munawir Sjadzali, M.A., as well as the founding father of IAIN Surakarta, as the leading IAIN to produce cadres of "intellectual scholars and intellectual scholars".

Due to the government's policy to rationalize the organization, in 1997 the branch faculty at IAIN was developed into the State Islamic College (STAIN). Based on the Decree of the President of the Republic of Indonesia No. 11 of 1997, dated March 21, 1997 STAIN Surakarta was established with four departments: the Department of Sharia, the Department of Ushuluddin, the Department of Tarbiyah, and the Department of Da'wah. The Sharia Department at that time had two study programs: Al-Ahwal Asy-Syakhshiyyah (AS) and Mu'amalat (MU).

On January 3, 2011, STAIN Surakarta changed its status to IAIN Surakarta. The Department of Sharia also developed into the Faculty of Sharia and Islamic Economics (FSEI). In October 2013, the Faculty of Sharia and Islamic Economics was divided into two faculties: the Faculty of Sharia (FSY) and the Faculty of Islamic Economics and Business (FEBI).
The Faculty of Sharia now has four Departments. Department of Islamic Family Law (HKI), Department of Sharia Economic Law (HES), Department of Islamic Criminal Law (HPI), and Department of Zakat and Waqf Management (MAZAWA). HKI and HES majors have been accredited "A". Meanwhile, HPI and MAZAWA Departments are accredited "B".

Public interest in continuing their studies at the Faculty of Sharia continues to increase. Now the Sharia Faculty contributes around 2,500 students from a total of more than 12,000 IAIN Surakarta students. In the future, the Faculty of Sharia is not only trying to increase the quantity, but also determined to continue to improve the quality. So, let's step with the Faculty of Sharia.

Address : Jl. Pandawa, Pucangan, Kartasura, Sukoharjo, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
Phone : +62-271-781516
Fax : +62-271-782774
Email : [email protected]
Website : syariah.uinsaid.ac.id
Visit Website